Skip to content ↓

Headteacher’s Welcome

Dr S Carson

Norton College is an exciting place to study and teach because we believe our students can be truly brilliant. A set of core values called ASPIRE shape all our work. These values are coupled with a belief in developing students’ self-belief and then helping them work hard in all that we do together. Families choose us because of our culture of high expectations, yet this is coupled with a “family feel” where students are known and respected as individuals. A strong sixth form enables all our children to stay with us for seven years.

  Click here to view my Blog.

 

  • Students are keen to learn. In lessons, they work in an atmosphere of trust and respect, which promotes dialogue and discussion between students and with adults.
  • Teachers’ enthusiastic and positive relationships with their classes encourage participation and motivation.
  • "Pupils say that they feel safe in school. They tolerate and respect differences and bullying is very rare. They are happy that in lessons teachers manage behaviour well." - Ofsted, Sept 17
  • Leaders have set high standards and encourage high aspirations. Effective policies and procedures have established strong common values and a consistent approach to behaviour and learning.
  • "Your effective actions have created an aspirational culture, resulting in students aiming high and improving their progress, and increasing numbers are choosing to access university." - Ofsted, Sept 17
  • "A review of the sixth form shows that leadership is highly effective. Leaders ensure that there is a good range of academic and vocational subjects for students to choose and the school accommodates students who wish to take a combination of both." - Ofsted, Sept 17
  • "You have firmly embedded your culture of ‘aspire’, where pupils are clear about your expectations for them to achieve, develop as an individual and achieve their full potential." - Ofsted, Sept 17
  • The headteacher provides strong direction. Accountability is strong and at the same time staff share a strong sense of common purpose, loyalty and teamwork.
  • "Following the previous inspection, you and your leadership team have worked hard to improve the quality of teaching and learning. Your highly effective monitoring and evaluation of the quality of teaching ensure that there is no complacency." - Ofsted. Sept 17

Upcoming Events

View Full Calendar
  • Thursday 12th December

    • Norton College Christmas Concert
      All Day
  • Thursday 19th December

    • Y7 Pantomime Trip
      All Day
  • Friday 20th December

    • End of term
      All Day
  • Monday 23rd December

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Tuesday 24th December

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Wednesday 25th December

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Thursday 26th December

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Friday 27th December

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Saturday 28th December

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Sunday 29th December

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Monday 30th December

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Tuesday 31st December

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Wednesday 01st January

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Thursday 02nd January

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Friday 03rd January

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Saturday 04th January

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Sunday 05th January

    • Christmas Holidays
      All Day
  • Monday 06th January

    • First day of Spring Term
      All Day
  • Thursday 09th January

    • Year 7 Parents' Evening
      All Day
View Full Calendar